There are lots of different sites to see in Morgan County. From our history to our adventures and our unique places to stay, there’s certain to be something to catch your eye!
Twin City Opera House, located on the square in McConnelsville. Serving Morgan County citizens and surrounding area continuously for 120 years. Serving as both a live performance venue and a movie theater. For full listings and show times: 740-962-3030 or www.operahouseinc.com
The Ohio Valley Opry: The third Saturday of each month, the stage of the Twin City Opera House comes to life with the music of the Ohio Valley Opry- Ohio’s premier country, gospel, and bluegrass music show. Since the onset of the show in 2000, nearly 55,000 music fans have attended, making it the most popular live music show in the state. Local, regional, and national talent featured throughout the year. Show time is 7:00pm. for more information- 740-962-4909 www.ohiovalleyopry.com
Covered Bridges: Fully restored and open to traffic, the Helmick Mill Bridge is one of 5 Covered Bridges in Morgan County. Stop in the Visitor Center and pick up a map, listing where each of our 5 bridges are located.
The Stockport Mill-Located at Muskingum River Lock & Dam #6. Once a grist mill built in 1906, now a beautifully restored 14-unit inn and restaurant. Morgan County’s “greenest” hotel as two hydro-electric turbines turn once again and provide power for the impressive four-story structure. For more information and reservations, 740-559-2822 or www.stockportmill.com
Union Hall Theater-Founded by the Quakers and built in 1908. Located in Chesterhill on the second floor of the Kate Love Simpson Library. Then and now, this theater provides the village a venue for speakers, musicians, artists, and dramatic entertainers. For more information, and schedule of events- 740-554-6994 or www.unionhalltheater.org
Chesterhill is also home to the Multi Cultural Genealogical Center of Southern Ohio. MGC is a non-profit organization, focused on documenting and preserving the history of early settlers to Morgan County, with a strong emphasis on our quaker history and the underground railroad. For an underground railroad tour, or for more information, contact MGC at 740-448-1305.
Hardware Inn of Stockport– Historic former hardware store building fully restored to a quaint small town inn. For more information- 740-559-2222 or www.hardwareinnofstockport.com
Morris True Value Hardware– Established in 1845, Ohio’s oldest family owned, full service hardware located in historic downtown McConnelsville. Come in and enjoy the original tin ceilings created and installed by George Morris, tinsmith and founder of Morris Hardware. 740-962-4261.
The Wilds– Explore the Wilds, one of the largest and most innovative conservation centers in the world. Board a Safari Transport for an incredible adventure encountering rare and endangered animals roaming freely on 10,000 acres. Open select days, May-October. 740-638-5030. thewilds.org
And now- Zip The Wilds! Enjoy the Wilds from an aerial perspective! Led by two professionally trained guides, this 2 ½ hour zipline safari tour consists of 10 ziplines and a rappel built on a series of observation platforms overlooking various rare and endangered animal species that enjoy the rolling hills and open range at the Wilds. You’ll zip along a network of cables, through the trees, over the animal watering holes, lakes, and pastures, finally landing among the amazing giraffes. This tour is designed to excite anyone with the love for wildlife and a bit of adventure.
Big Bottom Memorial State Park
Following the American Revolution, the new Federal government, in need of operating funds, sold millions of acres of western lands to land companies. One such company, the Ohio Company of Associates, brought settlement to Marietta in 1788. Two years later, despite warnings of Native American hostility, an association of 36 Company members moved north from Marietta to settle “Big Bottom,” a large area of level land on the east side of the Muskingum River. The settlers were acquainted with Native American warfare, but even so, built an unprotected outpost. They did not complete the blockhouse, put pickets around it, or post a sentry. On January 2, 1791, a war party of 25 Delaware and Wyandot Indians from the north attacked the unsuspecting settlers, killing nine men, one woman, and two children. War raged throughout the Ohio Country until August 1794 when the tribes were defeated at the Battle of Fallen Timbers. The Big Bottom massacre marked the start of four years of frontier warfare in Ohio, which only stopped when General Anthony Wayne and the Indian tribes signed the Treaty of Greenville in 1795. The site is operated by the Ohio Historical Society.
Burr Oak State Park and Resort
Perched atop a hill overlooking Burr Oak Lake, Burr Oak Lodge & Conference Center blends beautifully into the surrounding forest setting. Accommodations include a 60-room lodge with a variety of guestrooms and 30 cottages scattered throughout the adjacent hillsides. All cottages are located within one mile of the lodge, offering air-conditioning, screened-in porches, fully furnished kitchens, televisions and four to six beds.
Within the lodge you will find the Cardinal Dining Room, the Wren Lounge, a Fred Harvey Gift Shop, an indoor pool, a beautiful A-frame ceiling and glass-enclosed lobby with lovely lake views, wood-burning fireplace, large screen TV and 6 meeting rooms that accommodate up to 250 people. With its “getting away from it all” feeling, Burr Oak is the logical choice for retreats and conferences of all kinds. In fact, the lodge’s architectural design makes it a perfect location for weddings and receptions, many of which are held at the lodge year-round. Tour groups are also welcome. There is ample parking for buses. Whether you are planning a getaway for your family, that special wedding day, family reunion or simply in need of a business conference away from the hustle and bustle of the city, Burr Oak Lodge & Conference Center provides the perfect atmosphere. For more information, log onto www.StayBurrOak.com
The Miner’s Memorial Park is a monument to the achievements of the men and women of American Electric Power and Central Ohio Coal. Situated along Route 78, ten miles east of McConnelsville, Ohio, the park lies within AEP’s ReCreation Land, a 34,000-acre public recreational area in Morgan County, reclaimed through the planting of more than 63 million trees. A keystone installation at the park is the giant 220-cubic-yard 240-ton bucket from “Big Muskie,” the largest dragline ever built, which moved more than 483 million tons of rock and soil from 1969 to 1991. Another memorial highlight is the “Wall of Honor” which lists the names of past and present employees of Central Ohio Coal Company, the AEP subsidiary that operated Big Muskie. Additionally, the structural materials for the pavilions at the site are made from 50 year old red oak trees planted by miners on reclaimed mined land.
The Rock Hollow School, located on Main Street, Malta. One room school house, reminiscent of early education facilities in Appalachian Ohio.
The Doll House, at 126 E. Main, McConnelsville, is a quaint showroom with 2,500 unique dolls on display.
The Historical Society Museum, 168 E. Main, McConnelsville. Houses works by renowned illustrator, Howard Chandler Christy, and memorabilia from world famous magician, MacDonald Birch, and much more.
The Evelyn True Button House and Carriage Home , built in 1836, located at 142 E. Main, McConnelsville. Tour her Victorian style home and learn more about Evelyn True, one of Ohio’s first female high school principals and advocate for women’s rights.
These four distinct properties are owned by the Morgan County Historical Society. Each of these unique locations offers a peek into the colorful and varied history of Morgan County. Group tours are welcome. For more information and reservations: 740-962-4785, or http://www.historicalmorgancounty.com/
For more information on all these attractions, call 740-962-4909.